Press Releases


June 20, 2017


WATCH & SHARE: Majken – “Fainted Love”
WATCH & SHARE: Majken – “Dreaming of Franco”

“The dichotomy between Scandinavia and the American West Coast would seem to be vast, but the unbelievably talented Majken bridges the chasm with tremendous ease.”
The 405

“…she has an ethereal  husky voice that draws you in to her artist world accompanied by wet guitar riffs that  is reminiscent of  old-school rock and roll with an indie-pop twist.”

“…a lot of sirupy smiles and soft surf-pop melodies”
Nordic By Nature

“…an upbeat garage pop song about “living it up” in the wake of being dumped. The video is all cotton candy, ferris wheel, lolipops, friends, and sunny car ride—a recipe for getting over that jerk, Franco, whoever you are.”
Buzzbands LA

LA-based, Nordic indie pop artist Majken announces her debut album, Dancing Mountainsdue out August 2017. Today, she also shares the first single and video, “Fainted Love” via The 405, who they call her an “Ethereal pop singer” with a “powerful single” and “long-standing track that will soon be on her debut album.” The LP was produced by Jesse Nolan in LA (Caught a Ghost) and Maxime Sokolinski in Paris (Hologram, Sweaters, Soko). The forthcoming album follows her debut EP, Deronda Hotel, and features five remastered versions of previous EP tracks, in addition to the unheard material.

Majken wrote and recorded Dancing Mountains on a journey between gritty Los Angeles, romantic Paris and the simple, laid back feel of the Nordic Fjord, where she spent her childhood. Influenced by experimental rock legends such as The Velvet Underground and the sensibilities of master songwriters like Leonard Cohen, Majken creates experimental pop with accessible themes and song structure. Her collection of dreamy songs contain raw, emotive lyrics, cushioned by indie beach rock and a vintage Europop vibe. She’s inspired by wild nature, breakfast in bed, the various cities she’s visited and called home and the people in those places.

Dancing Mountains reflects on vivid dreams, fond memories and restless nights. Majken’s sultry vocal melodies, intoxicating layers of sound and surf rock guitar come together to create an ideal soundtrack for a summer daydream. Album track “Everything’s Wild” encapsulates this feeling, inspired by floating wild in a bizarre dream state – not alive and not awake. “A Little More Time,” produced by Cody Crump, is about a hazy heartbreak while “Fainted Love” reflects on a summer fling, through rose colored glasses and introspection. All songs were written by Majken, with the majority produced in collaboration with Jesse Nolan and Maxime Sokolinski. “You And I” was produced by Fingazz.

Dancing Mountains – TRACKLISTING
01. Dreaming of Franco
02. Where It All Begins
03. Everything’s Wild
04. Corner of 69
05. A Little More Time
06. Fainted Love
07. Here And Now
08. Madness
09. I Have A Dream
10. You And I
11. Feel It All
12. Dear You

For All Majken Related Press Inquiries Please Contact
Leigh Greaney
Rachel Rossen