Press Releases

Bird Call

November 12, 2019


LISTEN & SHARE: Bird Call – Year of the Dogfish

LISTEN & SHARE: Bird Call – “Chroma Love”

LISTEN & SHARE: Bird Call – “Soliloquy”

WATCH & SHARE: Bird Call – “Year of the Dogfish” (Music Video)

“her most striking music, as evidenced by her new album’s smoky new title track. – The 405

Bird Call, the musical project from Chiara Angelicola, has arrived with the release of their newest record, Year of the Dogfish. It’s out on all platforms now via Papavero Records.

Angelicola adds, “The album’s namesake single most widely encompasses the spirit of the record from a sonic perspective. The goal for the arrangements on the whole record was to imbue the structurally pop songs with subtle jazz and orchestral tones, somber minimalism, and upfront vocal delivery. I also wanted to record some of the songs in a way where you would listen and feel like you were being directly spoken to in a vulnerable and intimate setting. So a lot of that approach came through catching the cracks and crackles in the piano stool, pedals, breathes between bowe strokes, and, the organic approach to mixing. The record feels like a healthy culmination of the previous Bird Call releases and ultimately the most authentic sound I’ve identified with as an artist. I chose to begin the record with the first single Year of the Dogfish as a way to represent the album as a whole. Lyrically, the single sets the tone for the transcendent journey I went through in the past three years…beginning with a rock bottom realization that my view of the world and my place in it had to change, rather than the people in it.”

Her previous video, “Year of the Dogfish,” video was premiered with The 405 who calls the track a fascinating commentary of the performative nature of relationships and how difficult these behaviors are to cut out of our relationships.”

Year of the Dogfish is a collection of songs written by Angelicola between 2016 and 2018, during which Chiara left the Bay Area and moved to Los Angeles after a turbulent break-up with her partner, the loss of her 15-year-old dog, and a long struggle with depression and alcohol. Year of the Dogfish is Angelicola’s representation of the complexities of solitude, isolation, loss, recovery, and, ultimately, transcendence. It is her most honest work to date and produced by the artist herself alongside longtime friend, engineer, and mixer Gabriel Galvin of Four Foot Studios in Brooklyn, NY. The album features contributions from former producer Bryan Senti (Mark Ronson, Rufus Wainwright, Feist), Lyenn (Mark Lanegan), and the Budapest Film Orchestra. Mastered by Patrick Brown at Different Fur Studios (San Francisco, CA). All songs are written by Chiara Angelicola. Album Art by Mario Santizo (Guatemala City, Guatemala). Album jacket layout and design by Olivia Hutto Lopez.
Year of the Dogfish – TRACKLISTING
01. Year of the Dogfish
02. False Alarms
03. Cobra Mama
04. Get Better
05. Kindness is a Muscle
06. Soliloquy
07. Fuck It, I Don’t Know
08. Doves
09. Chroma Love
10. Walk in the Park